Cosplay Starter Kit Lite: Femme Stuttgart Loki

loki

Don’t I look cool? LOL

Hey!

Alright so the purpose of this post is to share everything I used to put this cosplay together. Since in the other “Start Kits” I’ve given tons of options, I’m looking at this like a light version of those. Also, I’m adding a few more notes with this one because I’ve actually done all of this. 😀

First I was doing my own twist on this handsome villain:

boy loki

Loki From the Avengers

I took this and made it work for me. I wanted to do a nice fitted suit with a mermaid skirt. Here’s what I used for the clothes and how much they cost. Your mileage may vary:

Jacket– Thrifted $1 + 2.50 for dry cleaning
Shirt– Thrifted $3 + 2.50 for dry cleaning
Waistcoat – Handmade using this pattern with thrifted fabric $4. I would not recommend this pattern. The sizing was way off and some of the pattern pieces didn’t even fit together.
Skirt– Handmade using this pattern and thrifted fabric $5. I loved this pattern and want to make another skirt using it. I did change it for this just a little. The fabric had some stretch to it so I didn’t need a zipper at all! (I hate putting in zippers!)
Shoes– Thrifted Born flats $6- I got these years ago brand new (heel checks don’t lie) and decided I was kidding everyone if I thought I could spend the day walking in heels. My skirt covered my feet for the most part so I’m calling it good.
Scarf– Thrifted $3

If you can’t tell I really like thrifting. lol But really it’s the only way I can justify spending money on a hobby. Anyone else having that problem?

Anywho, I also spent a lot of time thinking about the beauty aspect of this look and tried to make it fit my style. I think I came up with something I really liked and went with what I was doing. I mean don’t I look so pretty?

DSCN0097

Picture thanks to the lovely @venis_envy.

Ok but really I tried to think about what I could do within Loki’s signature color scheme. While I didn’t get a picture of it that day because I win at life, I did snap a photo earlier of what I did for my eyes.

BmgxwxmCcAA1wz2

 

Not too over the top with color while still having it (That totally makes sense right?). So here’s a list of what I used for my face and hair.

Wig- black $10 similar to the one I bought found here.
Lashes– $3 bought from here. I love these for no other reason than it’s great to have a ton of extras while you get the hang of gluing a strip of hair to your eyelids.
Lid colors– Coastal Scents “In the Spotlight” sample I got from my ipsy bag. Colors I used were Dark Goldenrod (This was an amazing gold with a green shift), Dark Golden Olive, and Golden Globe.
LinerEm Walterliner in Emerald City from the lower lashes and Elf liquid liner in black for the top/to hide the lash band.
Brows– I used the black in the “Color Spectrum” palette from Sephora. (It’s out of stock right now).
Lips– Mac’s Russian Red
FoundationESTEE LAUDER Double Wear Stay-in-Place Makeup in Pebble AND SEPHORA COLLECTION 10 HR Wear Perfection Foundation in shade 22. My face and my neck are two different colors so I have to use the Double Wear in my face and then blend that in to the Sephora one onto my neck.
Blush/Bronzer/highlight- All were from the Solar Palette.

ABM_1406081271

Last up we have my staff. It’s made of PVC pipe, wood glue, paint, a blue LED light, craft foam, foam wire, hot glue and part of a clear soda bottle. I didn’t take pictures while I was making it because I wasn’t 100% sure it’d work out, owever if anyone wants to know how I did things, let me know. I’ll see what I can do.

OK so that’s it! I hope this was helpful and maybe entertaining. Like always if you have any questions let me know and I’ll do my best to answer!

-Mel

Leave a Reply

