Comic Review: Quixote By Deron Bennett

 

Source

Hey everyone!

It’s been awhile since we reviewed anything and I’m so excited to share this with you!! This comic is written by Deron Bennett, one of the nicest comic fellows I’ve interacted with on twitter. This is his first comic he’s written, though he’s no stranger to the comic world. You may remember him as the letterer from Tale Of Sand and many other titles.

Alright – on to the good stuff. Here the official blurb for the story:

Quixote is the upcoming fantasy graphic novel from comic book creator, Deron Bennett. It chronicles the adventures of Quixote – a young man in search of clues to uncover the secrets of his past. He and his companion, Sam, set out on a quest that will pit them against pirates, giants, war machines, and a maniacal king who will stop at nothing to get what he wants. You won’t want to miss out on this adventure featuring art from Dan Mora and colors from Paul Little!

Pretty straight forward. One of the things I loved about the first issue was it did a lot of world building without it feeling like they were doing a lot of world building. Does that make sense? We meet Quixote and get his quest from the start. The conversations between the characters felt natural and real.

I’m not going to go too much into the plot as to not spoil things but I will say it’s a well done first issue. By that I mean it laid the ground work for more to come while engaging me as a reader and giving me characters I want to know more about. The point of the first issue is to hook you and it did just that.

Now, the floppy itself is quality. The weight of the paper used to the saturation of the color gives it a feeling of quality which I love! It’s on par with the floppies Archaia puts out. Top shelf. Totally worth the price, no question.

The art was amazing and enhanced the story. Mora really brought this world to life in a really cool way. I think the thing they find on the island are my favorite art work. (Don’t worry I didn’t spoil anything.)

Like I said, I loved this and I can’t wait for more! You can order the hard copy here for $5 +$2 s&h or get a digital copy here for $1.99. Be sure to like on Facebook and follow Deron on twitter.

-Mel

One thought on “Comic Review: Quixote By Deron Bennett

  1. Pingback: Great Quixote Review and random love around the web! | Peep Game Comix

Leave a Reply

