AniMonday: Sailor Moon is Back

I’m just going to start this post off with an apology for falling way behind on my duties with AniMondays…So sorry. I suck. I’ll be better I swear.

I remember being in middle school and coming home from school, all excited about this really cool cartoon that aired on a second rate channel in the Chicagoland area. That cartoon was Sailor Moon. And I absolutely LOVED it. I don’t think any of my family understood why I so diligently watched it. I mean, at that age most kids I knew were trying to get away from cartoons to prove they were more grown up because, gosh we were eighth graders and practically in high school which meant we were basically grown ups. I know my friends didn’t understand it (at first. more on that later). I diligently watched every episode, even if it was a rerun I’d already seen because that channel seemed to loop through a set amount of episodes only. One day I came home and discovered Sailor Moon was not on (something else, far less cooler that i can’t remember was playing) and I nearly came unhinged.

Luckily for me, my story of all things Sailor Moon did not end there. Turned out, the channel switched their scheduling around and then Sailor Moon began playing early mornings, right after Bananas in Pajamas (does anyone remember that show?) and I started waking up earlier just to watch it before school. For real, I was devoted. There was just something about the show that drew me in. Maybe it was the fact that Usagi (or Serena in the English dubbed version I watched) was such a normal teenager. She was whiny and sometimes obsessed with appearances, though she loved to eat, and often times came across as a scaredy cat. But when it came down to it, Usagi was a brave and loyal friend who would do anything to protect the people she loved.

Plus I had a total and unending crush on Tuxedo Mask

.

Eventually, that second rate channel stopped playing Sailor Moon all together. But not before I had firmly became entrenched in it (and I suppose this is where my first experience with fangirling happened). I talked about it so much I managed to convince my closest of friends to watch and love it too. We even assigned ourselves Sailor Scouts. I was Sailor Jupiter because, duh, she was so badass and tough but liked to bake and I thought she was gorgeous (for my birthday this year, a friend posted a picture of Jupiter on my FB wall and it was perfect). I would go scouring for Sailor Moon merch, a thing not easily done because in that day it just wasn’t a huge deal (at least not in my area). I collected and treasured a random watch I found at Claire’s (wore it every day til it got scratched – and don’t think for a second I didn’t cry at that), displayed a metal lunchbox proudly, and clearly obsessed enough that later, in high school, a boyfriend found a movie ( VHS WOW) and a poster and gave them as gifts (he was a pretty great boyfriend even if I wasn’t the best girlfriend).

I’ve even managed to pass on my love to my oldest. She currently has the lunchbox and poster up in her room. She used to watch the VHS daily, until our ancient VCR broke and that technology has become obsolete. I used to go online and google “watch Sailor Moon episodes online” and pull up poor quality, incomplete episodes to watch with her. But now the day has come where I don’t have to do that.

Because Viz Media is sharing ALL episodes, COMPLETELY UNCUT (which means no pretending two girls are cousins to explain their closeness), including the Sailor Stars series which never made it to the USA. The episodes start streaming TODAY, with the first four available at Hulu and Viz Media (through Neon Alley) and a new episode airing every Monday after that.

If you haven’t watched Sailor Moon before and maybe need some convincing, here’s the official trailer for the series. I got all emotional watching. I can’t wait to relive the magic of this beautiful series with my daughter and all of you…because I’ll be sharing all my feelings every Monday 😀

Now, in the name of the Moon, I order you all to go and watch!

Leave a Reply

