Captain America: Winter Soldier Review

Captain-America-2-Poster-All-Characters-570x844

 

Steph-

(*po

I got to see this opening day, as a pseudo, belated birthday present. BEST PSEUDO, BELATED BIRTHDAY PRESENT EVER!
Admittedly, Captain America: The First Avenger was not my favorite out of The Avengers franchise. It was, I think, the most light hearted. And it was fun. But I tend to gravitate towards Iron Man in general (whatever, I have a lot of Tony Starks feels). After seeing Winter Soldier, though, I think I have a new favorite.

There’s something so…so endearing about Steve Rogers. A man out of time he may be, but he’s no dummy. And he’s definitely not naive. So, as the audience watches and learns about corruption within S.H.I.E.L.D., we get to see an intelligent, no nonsense Steve Rogers fight for what is right (even if it goes against “the good guys”). I’ve seen a lot of commentary (that’ll happen when you wait so long to review a fantastic movie…oops) on what exactly this movie is trying to say. And I agree with most of what I’ve read. This movie isn’t about ‘MERICA EFF YEAH. This is about, ‘MERICA, WE GOT PROBLEMS YO. And how Captain America isn’t the face of a country that is great and above everyone else. Captain America is about the ideal that this country is supposed to represent. He’s strength, both mental and physical, loyalty, courage, etc…all in the face of an enemy he thought he’d helped defeat.

I loved, so much, Steve Rogers’ relationships with Natasha and Sam. Like, I don’t have the words kind of love. Like, if I start talking I may never shut up…especially about Natasha (more on that later). For me, the trust that just seemed to be inherent amongst them was so special. Fury, earlier in the movie, tells Steve not to trust anyone. And yet here he is, just knowing he can count on a woman who used to be considered a traitor before joining S.H.I.E.L.D and a man he barely knows.

Natasha was so great in this movie. And for all those naysayers who still think a solo movie wouldn’t bring in the money needed to make production worth it, I say STFU and GTFO. I’m so sick of people saying Black Widow’s purpose in these movies is for eye candy. Sure, she played up to that role when first appearing in Iron Man 2. But other than that, no, she’s so much more. Listen, I’m not a particularly articulate person. I can’t sit here and properly discuss why pigeon-holing her in the femme fatale role is BS, not adequately anyway. But if you watch CAWS and don’t see how Natasha’s character develops into something so much stronger and more and important, then you’re wrong. And there’s not much I can say to make you feel otherwise. For me, she’s everything a female superhero should be. And just because she’s pretty and wears a tight, S.H.I.E.L.D. regulation uniform (hello, Steve does too. And even though I certainly think he’s eye candy you don’t hear the rest of the world describing him as such while simultaneously discrediting everything else he is in the movie) doesn’t mean she isn’t also smart, funny, badass, her own freakin person, and capable of standing on her own in this franchise. When I grow up, I want to be Natasha.

Sam Wilson was THE BEST. Oh man. He added the perfect touch of humor. All while being a sincere, trustworthy, and likable guy (and if you don’t think CAWS is all about Steve and Sam’s growing ~relationship…well, you’re wrong again). Being a new character, it can be hard to really learn and love him in the allotted time he’s on screen. But the script was written in such a way that we were given these snippets of info about his past, about the kind of man he is in general, enough so that we all want more. And I hope we do get a lot more in the third movie (which I hope has a bearded Steve Rogers because he’s too busy searching for Bucky to bother with shaving).

Which leads me to…Bucky. Oh man. BUCKY BARNES. I was tearing up within the first few minutes of the movie when we first see the flashback to him and Steve (or at least I think it’s the first few minutes. It’s been awhile since I’ve seen it. i need to remedy this). I knew this movie was going to hurt me (in the best way) from the minute it was announced they were doing the Winter Soldier story. With every set picture released(leaked whatever) and snippet we were given, I could feel the ever increasing desire to sob my way through the movie grow. I managed to remain externally calm, probably due only to the fact it was a packed theater and I couldn’t lose my cool in front of that many people. But inside I was all A;LSDKAFJPDOFIAD;FAKLDF every time he came on screen. My heart clenched in my chest when his mask fell and Steve first recognized him, said his name, and Bucky didn’t even recognize it. And then again, when he was being “wiped.” The way he so easily accepted his “mission” and all the pain that went along with it. I CAN’T TAKE POOR BUCKY BARNES BEING USED AND ABUSED. At the end, when it’s just Steve and Bucky in a showdown that could lead to their deaths, I felt like I was going to die.

Funny, though, how much I enjoyed it. I want to watch it again. I need to. I need to read everyone’s thoughts on this movie, on Steve, Sam, Natasha, Bucky, and anyone else in the movie (because I’m leaving a lot out, I know). I need ALL THE CAWS FEELS. Give them to me?

Mel’s

Ok, so Steve Rogers is my Favorite Avenger. He’s a good guy who just wants to do good. He’s so good that’s why he could become Captain America. I know some might say that’s boring, but whatever. I think it’s great he wanted to be good from the beginning and didn’t need to make some huge error to become good. Looks at Thor, Widow, and Iron Man.  (WHOA, MEL, DEMS FIGHTIN WORDS -steph) I like seeing him struggle to hold onto that. Don’t get me wrong, I love all the Avengers but he’s my guy.

I tell you all this to convey just how excited I was for this film. SO EXCITED. When I saw who the villain was I was filled with so many emotions to add to the excitement. I hurt for Steve before I even saw the film. Then as I watched the whole thing unfold I hurt for Bucky too. GAH. I just have a lot of emotions, OK?

Then we have Sam/Falcon. Oh how wonderful was Anthony Mackie? He killed it!! I feel like he was the perfect person to work with Steve. Sam believes in Steve’s goodness and honor. Not his powers or fame. Sam also gets what it’s like to have the loss Steve’s had and how combat messes with you. I think what I love the most though is Sam’s not some sidekick either. He’s a partner and an equal. Just the same as Widow.

Speaking of Widow, Who here wants her to have her own film? Me!! Scarlet J. knocked this out of the park. She brought to life an amazing well rounded complex character and made it look effortless. She showed the Widow was so much more than a femme fatale. Yes I know she did that in the Avengers too but I feel like she had way more time to shine in this film. Her constantly poking at Steve to get out there and start living was great. She’s just amazing!!

All and all I loved this film and I need more!!

What did you think of the movie?

Leave a Reply

