A New Year. New Goals!

But it's haaaaard

Mel: I think it’s like a blogging rule to make a list of goals for the new year and share it. I like goals vs resolutions bc with goals it’s something you work towards a little at a time. They seem more lasting. While with resolutions, they seem so all or nothing. Like, the first time you slip up all is lost. Doesn’t seem very encouraging. At least for me it isn’t. So Here are my goals for the upcoming year:

  1. Make one garment a month for myself. Since I started sewing I’ve collected bits and bobs with the sole purpose of making myself something. I have done maybe a 1/3 of those things. Many of which I still want to make. I just haven’t made the time for it. This year I want to make the time.
  2. Finish the quilts I’ve started. Ok here’s the thing, I hate quilting. HATE. IT. Sure doing one or two blocks can be really fun. 80? Not so much. I know some of you may be thinking: “But if you hate it then why are you making any at all?” Well here’s the funny thing about quilts. My kids can’t outgrow them. I’ve saved scraps from various things and have started to put together a quilt for each of them. It’s really selfish bc I want them to have at least one thing from me they can use for the foreseeable future. I’ve enlisted my Mom to help and she’ll keep me at it. (YAY MOMS!)
  3. Exercise. I want to be clear with this; I have no goal weight or dress size.I was a runner all through my teens and early 20’s and  I miss the way I felt when I was really active. Due to an injury I can’t run anymore but I can still do plenty of other things. I’ve started with parking my exercise bike in front of the TV and biking for at least 20 min day day 5 days a week. Why that number? Well wanting to feel good and actually doing it are two different things. I require extra motivation meaning I pay myself to work out. It’s not a ton but it’s money I feel like I can spend freely without guilt. It’s a long story but I feel bad from spending money on myself when I could use it on the kids and “responsible” things.
  4. Post at least one Tutorial/”how to” each month. I think this is self explanatory right? If there is anything you want me to try leave a comment letting me know!
  5. Read More! I’ve been kind of in a slump with reading so I want to trying to read things I haven’t. I have a shelf of graphic novels that are calling to me. I think I know just the one to start with too!
  6. Share more of the stuff I love and make on here.
  7. Finally learn how to use my DSLR camera. I’ve had the thing for 5 years now. I have no excuse.

So that’s them. Nothing too overwhelming right?

Stephanie: Maaaaaan. I’m not one for New Year Resolutions. But I actually am setting goals for myself. Because I want this year (when I turn 30) to be my best yet. (that’s not cheesy at all).

  1. Get healthy. This is a general way of saying lose some weight and get in shape. It’s not just to be “skinny.” I’m tired of the way I look and feel and I want to be healthy, gosh darnit. I actually even started a blog about my journey. Hey hey. Which leads to…
  2. Blogging more frequently. Whether it’s here (I suck, Mel, admit it) or my family blog, and now my fitness blog, I need to be more consistent.  That means no more putting putting off posts. Carving out time to add my thoughts and whatnot.
  3. Write, write, write. I have a current WIP of a YA novel sitting on my computer. I have a ton of ideas but lately not much motivation. I signed up for NanoWrimo and totally bombed out. Womp womp. So this year I want to finish a first, rough rough rough draft of my novel and go from there.
  4. Sew. I’m making this really general too, because I don’t do it much and I have a TON to learn. If only I lived closer to Mel. We could do it together! I only have myself, the internet and sorta my mom for help. But I’d like to be able to start projects for my children.

I’m sure there are a lot more goals I need to put up here. Let’s face it, I’m a WIP myself. But thinking of them is hard for me (it could be I’m distracted by my near 2 y0 running around and slapping my husband). I’d like to come back and revisit this list in the future. Share our successes, failures, and additions.

What are your goals this year?

One thought on “A New Year. New Goals!

  1. Pingback: What I made: January edition | Why Sew Nerdy

Leave a Reply

