Cosplay With Me: Foundation Garments

Hey all!

I’m back again to give more tips, tricks and helpful hints for cosplaying. This time I chose a somewhat touchy topic but valid none the less. Before I get into it I want to be very, very clear that this post isn’t about having the “right” body or meant for everyday wear. It’s about loving *your* body and helping you get a clean looking cosplay no matter the size. Every body is beautiful, K? And, like always, this topic is for both men and women. 

That being said, let’s get real here for a second. Spandex/Lycra leaves little to the imagination and are not forgiving in the least.  Doesn’t matter if you’re a size 0 because it will show everything. Having the proper foundation can help you get the polished look you want. 

What are foundation garments?

Source

Source

They come in all shapes and sizes to fit your needs. They can be as simple as the right bra and underwear to body shapers and dancers belts. It really depends on the cosplay you choose. Not many call for a full body shaper. Those tend to be mainly used with the spandex jumpsuits.  AKA 90% of the female superhero’s costumes out there.

Bras
A good bra is worth it’s weight in gold (it tends to cost that much too.) but you may need something a little out of the norm when looking for one specific to your cosplay. What do I mean? Well, some may call for some extra padding while others may need it to look like you have less than you do. Push up bras can be found in almost any store that sells undergarments.  This is something I STRONGLY recommend going to the store first before you buy to find exactly what you’re looking for.

rebecca_michaels_black_compression_bra-280x350

Source

Compression Bras are what you tend to use when you want to minimize the appearance of breast. They can be as simple as a sports bra all the way to a medical grade one. (Those are more often used in the recovery of surgeries and treatment of circulatory issues.) An ace bandage can also be use but you should NOT wear it any longer than 8 hours.  It could cause damage to your body if you do. PLEASE don’t use duct tape or any other kind of tape. They’re not made for skin and can cause some really lasting damage.  Take care of yourself, K?

Undies
Now I know it seems kind of silly to even bring this up but believe it or not it can make a big difference to the over all look of the costume. Underwear lines can take away from the detail work of the costume.

Thongs are an option but be sure to avoid the embellished ones. Sure, you may not have the normal lines but that giant bow will not look right either, know what mean?

rhonda-shear-seamless-boy-shorts-2-pack-d-20130918162033453~267779_alt4

Source

I’m personally a fan of the seamless boyshorts. They don’t give me any unwanted lines and are a little more comfy for me to wear. Again, it’s all down to personal preference on what you feel most comfortable in.

falcon-marvel-avengers-assemble-lifesize-standup-poster

Source

For the fellas out there who plan on wearing spandex suits, may I recommend adding a dancer’s belt to your cosplay. I understand if it makes you turn your head a little when you look at it but it will help your look. Most superhero men look like ken dolls, and it can be distracting when a cosplayer skips this step.

Male work out shorts

If a dancer’s belt is not for you spandex workout shorts are also another option. They may give you visible lines around your mid-thigh to knee but they get the job done.

I’m going to get real here for a sec. I saw the most AMAZING Superman last year. I swear he looked like he stepped right out of the pages of the comic. He was pure muscle and it wasn’t a padded suit either. I could see everything and I do mean everything. He went from being approachable to very off putting and slightly creepy in one fell swoop. I know it’s unfair but I live in a country where my personal safety is very much my own responsibility. Something like this where a man is exposed, no matter how innocent, is what I’ve been trained to avoid out of pure survival. I believe this is exactly why the male superhero’s look like Ken doll’s. It allows them to be strong without being threatening.

Body Shaper
Moving on. Body shapers on spandex garments that smooth and shape your body. I tend to look here first to see if they have what I’m looking for and more often than not they do. (Search with “shaper” and it’ll pull up what you’re looking for.) They come in all shapes and cuts to fit what you need for a specific cosplay. They can be hell to put on though so don’t feel bad if it takes you a few tries. (I almost gave myself a concussion the first I put one on.) 

Bodysuit

If you’re not looking for something quite so tight and more smoothing, give body tights for dancers a try. They help smooth things over while not being quite as constricting as the shapers.

Shapers aren’t only used for smoothing and slimming. They can also be used to enhance different areas. There are bust/posture ones to help with those areas. While you can also get one that’s padded to help enhance your booty!

Corsets
This is probably the last one you’ll need in relation to cosplay. I have to be honest; I know very little about corsets, but fear not! The Lingerie Addict did an AMAZING breakdown on how to find a great corset while dispelling common misconceptions. It’s definitely worth a look if you’re in need of one.

I hope this was helpful and informative. Let me know if you have any questions and I will do my best to answer!

-Mel

One thought on “Cosplay With Me: Foundation Garments

  1. Good article. As somebody who used to sew sportswear long time ago, that skill stayed with me that help me on sewing Lycra/spandex to make them less skimpy. Anyway, keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

