Cosplay with me: Makeup Removal

Image courtesy of duron123 at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of duron123 at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Hey Everyone!

So a couple of weeks ago I talked about why makeup can really make a difference when you cosplay and I thought it would be only logical to next talk about how to take it off. I know you may think “It can’t be that hard.” But you’d be surprised! Especially if you’re using a bold color all over your body. I hope to provide a few tips with what to use in combination with your fave face/body wash that will make your life a little easier. 😉 This is mostly geared towards people who are just starting. Again, I’m no guru or professional so feel free to ignore everything.

Prep.

I know it may seem a little odd to talk about what you do before you even put the makeup on but it can make a world of difference when the time comes to wash it off. You’ll want to make sure you’re face is properly moisturized with what works best for you. This will help keep any bold colors from dying your skin an unwanted color. My moisturizer of choice is Argan oil and it works great for me. I haven’t had any issues with it.

A quality primer will also help guard your skin.  It’s another layer to protect your skin that also acts as a glue to help keep what you want where you want it. It’s pretty awesome stuff and if you’re worried over price, Elf makes a great one that is really reasonably priced.

Make up removers

Image courtesy of Teeratas at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of Teeratas at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

When I was first learning about makeup I totally thought makeup remover and face wash were the same thing. I have since learned they are not. (Who knew? lol) Makeup remover is there to, wait for it… REMOVE YOUR MAKEUP! Ok, joking aside, getting rid of as much makeup as you can before you wash your face will help in cleaning your skin and making sure you don’t dry your skin out scrubbing off any unwanted color.

Ben Nye makes a great remover but my favorite remover has to be olive oil. Yep, you read that right. Plain old olive oil. I know putting oil on your face may seem a little scary but this post explains the benefits of using it and how it helps your skin. 😀 I love it bc it’s something I always have around and it’s relatively inexpensive.

Exfoliate

This will help get the last of the makeup off your face to let your skin breathe. I tend to go for the ones with Salicylic acid in them. This will help deep clean your pores which is great for preventing break outs. It also helps get rid of any unwanted color that made it past the makeup remover. Go for a gentle exfoliater when possible. Too much can also hurt your skin and we want to avoid that.

Try before hand

ID-10041484

Image courtesy of Pixomar at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

It’s super important to test everything out before the big day. I can’t stress this enough. Everyone’s skin is different and you’ll want to know what works best for you. It took me 4 tries to get the right combo for getting the green off my face. That came in super handy when I wanted to go out the same day but not green. lol Testing before also helps avoid any unknown reactions you may have. Sure the scrub gets all the makeup off but it also took off 5 layers of skin. Yuck. Or what works for you face doesn’t for your body.

I know it seems like over kill but it will really help in the long run. You’ll have less stress the day of, and be able to enjoy the whole experience. Plus you may find you can be bolder than you thought you could and try something new!

I hope this made sense and was helpful in some way! If you have any questions feel free to ask and I will do my best to answer!

Do you have a misshap with trying to remove makeup? Any tips to share?

-Mel

Leave a Reply

