Book Review: World After

I haven’t done any book reviews for the blog yet, but that doesn’t mean I don’t love to read (I do, I really really do. I practically inhale books). I’m always on the lookout for something new, great and attention grabbing. I found that last year when I read Susan Ee’s book Angelfall.

Here’s the official synopsis:

It’s been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister, Penryn, will do anything to get her back.

Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.

Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl.

Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels’ stronghold in San Francisco where Penryn will risk everything to rescue her sister, and Raffe will put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again.

You know those books you read, only to immediately wish you could keep on reading and are supremely bummed out when you can’t? Well, this is one of those books. It was made even worse when I realized I had to wait so long for the second installment. I’ve been practically chomping on the bit for World After. And finally it is here. And it is good.

Good is an understatement, obviously. I’ve almost lost the ability to properly critique because I just want more. What I love most about this series is the unique take on Angels. They’re not the typical good guys. In fact, in Susan Ee’s world, they’re the bad guys. Their morality is questionable at best, and with World After we start to see their motivations and get a look at what is really happening with this Angel Apocalypse.

Penryn is an amazing protagonist. She’s tough ( I mean, she kicks some serious butt) but still vulernable. She has this dry sense of humor that I just love. There’s just something about the way she thinks, this sometimes blunt but totally honest and endearing, way about her.

I’m a sucker for romance, I’ll admit. World After has it. But it’s not the driving force behind Penryn and her actions. It’s just an added bonus (honestly, Raffe isn’t even in most of this book. At least, not in the literal sense where he’s interacting with her). And Raffe, well, is one hell of a bonus. I like him. Kind of a lot. Kind of a whole lot.

I will warn here and now, that World After is pretty gruesome. There are bits of horror mixed in with all the post-apocalyptic, end of the world ish feels. If you’re squeamish at all, tread lightly. It’s not too detailed, but…yeah. The horror bits only serve to make everything much more real, in my opinion.

There is so much left to resolve between the Angels, the horrible Scorpion monsters that the Angels call Locusts, Penryn’s mother and sister, and the world in general. It excites me for more. I just hate to wait.

If you’re a fan of dystopian, post-apocalyptic books, I highly recommend this book. I cannot say enough good things. In fact, you’re more than welcome to comment away, ask me some questions or share the love if you’ve read the book already. And then we can commiserate over waiting for the next installment.

-Stephanie

Leave a Reply

