Cosplay With Me: Makeup

IMG_20130721_155511

Hey Everyone, Mel here!  So a couple months back I did a write up for the Keysmash Blog on cosplay. It was more of an into into the world and I had a bunch of fun sharing my take on it. Ever since then I’ve been thinking about all the the things I left out or should have said. (Other people do that too right?) Anywho, I realized I could totally do that here! (I’m slow on up take ok?)

Why makeup? Why not?! I have to start somewhere and why not with something I kind of know about. I am in no way a guru or an expert but I’m gonna share what I know. See if it works you. 🙂

Alright, first things first: Why wear makeup at all?

Well, for starters it evens out your skin and helps you look more polished in pictures. This goes for guys and gals alike. The way I look at it is, why spend the time, money and effort into the clothes and accessories but forget about your face? I’m not saying that everyone needs to put on full coverage cake foundation and false eyelashes. However a little concealer can help polish your look. For example this lovely goddess:

feature-strangerthanzombies-michonne-500

Michonne appears not wear make up in the show BUT her skin is flawless. That’s something you’d want to emulate*, right? Same goes for characters like Kara Thrace, Maggie Green, Athena (BSG) and so on.  And in case the fella’s out there thought I’d forgotten about them, Kirk, Spock, and Bones aren’t sporting under eye circles or blotchy skin. Neither are most of the leading prime time males.

So now that we’ve talked about the “Why at all” part, let’s talk about how.

There are a bajillion different types of beauty products out there with a huge range in prices.  It can be a bit overwhelming. For me the best place to start is with who I want to be. (Youtube is invaluable for video how to’s.)

Skin

Now I wear makeup often enough that I have the basics on hand but if you don’t BH cosmetics has got you covered as far as concealers and foundations go. They just came out with these awesome concealing pallets that are great for getting you the perfect coverage. I love this place bc they ship fast and are inexpensive. There are always the drugstore brands and higher end products but this is what I go with. BB creams are also a great option for minimal coverage.  Find what works for you and remember: more expensive doesn’t always mean better.

If you’re looking to paint yourself a different color* like green or purple, Ben Nye is my go to for water based cake makeup. I get mine here. 

Eyes

BH is also great for eye shadows that have great camera presence.  If you’re looking for a super bright non-natural color like lime green Sugar Pill is also another great option! I love them bc they show up SO well on camera and are awesome for some of those over the top looks. Ben Nye also has a great selection of eye colors to choose from.

Lips

OCC has an AMAZING selection of quality lip tars that come in eye popping colors.  A little goes a long way and they last too. I love them. Lip stains are also an option and there are a ton of drugstore brands that have great selections. Lipstick can seem like something only “old ladies” wear but you can really enhance you cosplay with the right color. Really the choices are endless here so if this is something you want to try you should be able to find something that works for what you’re doing.

Priming/Setting.

I think this above all is what will help your look last. A primer can keep your shadows/concealers from creasing and give your skin a flawless look. While a setting power/spray will help keep your makeup from melting off your face while you wait in the line for Hall H. Ben Nye’s Final Seal is a great finishing spray and I also love the setting powder by them.

Primers don’t have to be expensive either. Milk of Magensia has been used by pro’s for years and years. I love Urban Decay’s eye primer for my eyes (Imagine that) but there are other great options out there too.

All in all it comes down to what will make your cosplay look perfect for *you* and what works with your skin. Don’t be afraid to branch out and explore! Just be sure to practice it once or twice before you go out. This will help you fine tune what you want to do and also make sure there are no reactions to the makeup. 😉

What beauty product gives you the most trouble? (Mine are false lashes! lol)

-Mel

*This does NOT mean doing “Black Face”. That is never ok and shouldn’t be done. Deal? Deal.

3 thoughts on “Cosplay With Me: Makeup

  1. Pingback: Cosplay with me: Makeup Removal | Why Sew Nerdy

Leave a Reply

