AniMonday: High School of the Dead

Hey All! Mel here! I’m jumping in here this will to talk about a series I discovered on Netflix. It’s called High School of the Dead and surprise, surprise it’s about zombies.

Since I powered through the first season in about 3 days can I can safely say I enjoyed it.  Now, I’ll be the first to say Anime isn’t something I watch a lot of, (Steph is still working on forgiving me for never having seen an episode of Sailor Moon.) but I’m working on expanding my horizons. I figured a show about zombies was a great place to start.

It starts by wasting no time with getting to the action. We see a zombie at the school gate and the virus takes no time to spread from there.  We watch the survivors battle their way from school to what they think is safety. One thing I really enjoyed about the series is the creators really thought about what would happen in an  apocalypse. That’s want usually what makes or brakes it for me. If an EMP goes of but the main group is still enjoying a relaxing TV show I’m out.

The end was kind of bitter sweet for me until I learned there is going to be another season in the fall (2013). I’m so looking forward to it! While I didn’t love everything (how many pantie shots do we really need?) I do think I’ll be watching more anime from here on out.

What kind of anime do you enjoy?

-Mel

Leave a Reply

