TV Round Up: Attack on Titan

One of the best (and worst) things about tumblr is the introduction to so many new fandoms. I kept seeing posts about this new anime based off the manga by the same name. We all know how I can’t resist things that are basically shoved under my nose day in and day out (cough, Teen Wolf, cough) so I gave it a try.

Okay, what you have to know about AoT – those of you not already familiar with it through either the manga or anime – is that this story is really gory. It’s not for the young or faint of heart. In fact, after the first episode I wasn’t sure I wanted to keep watching because it freaked. me. out.

Anyway.

Attack on Titan is the story of a dystopian/post apocalyptic world where Humans are all but extinct. They live behind huge city walls to keep out Titans, grotesque human-like giants who scare the crap out of me and love to eat people. The first episode takes place a hundred years after civilization’s retreat behind the city walls, where we meet Eren (the protagonist) and his “sister” Mikasa and friend Armin.

I found the episode a bit confusing, but I think that’s intentional, because you’re not given all the information up front. It’s something you have to learn/glean over time. All I knew was Titans, bad. And when they manage to break through the outer wall, um, yeah. TITANS, BAD. I’m not normally scared by traditional movies/shows/whatever (except spiders. and clowns *shudders*) but I was terrified by these Titans. There is a scene, which I won’t spoil, where someone gets eaten and I just…had to stop and calm down afterwards before continuing. It was a bit much for me.

BUT though I am terrified I am also intrigued. Because I don’t know anything yet. And I desperately want to.

Some things that stuck out to me:

The animation, especially the opening sequence with all the fighters flying around, is really cool. So is the music. I found it really evocative.

The timing of the big Titan’s arrival. Seemed kind of coincidental to me. But, what do I know.

Eren seems a bit…crazy? fanatical? about the Titans. Even before they break through the wall. But I suppose that’s helpful since he’s the protagonist and maybe it’s intentional in a way we’ll discover later. Also. His dad…where did he go? He’s unaccounted for and no one seems to think it’s a big deal?(also he kinda weirds me out) And what’s in the basement????

I love that Mikasa is a tough, strong girl that the boys are scared of. I hope to see a lot more of her development.

If you aren’t squeamish about blood and gore and, you know, people being EATEN GROSS, I highly recommend giving this anime a try.

-Steph

Leave a Reply

