Merlin: Arthur’s Bane

Source

Merlin series 5 started off with a bang! So I was a little iffy about this season because the end of the last season. It felt all over the map.  I was pleasantly surprised with this episode and hope it keeps this tone for the rest of the season.  (I refuse to admit this will be the last one. REFUSE!)

This episode had it all; beautiful action sequences, a dragon, pretty clothes, shirtless knights (Is it written into Tom Hopper’s contract that sleeves make baby angels cry?), Merlin and Arthur’s constant flirting bickering, and well timed comedy. Katie McGrath brought Morgana’s  beautiful crazy full force and well. I really want to see where they take her this season. Will Morgana learn to let go of all that hate? Gwen was lovely as ever but I feel like I’m waiting for the other shoe to drop with her. (I just can’t get the legends out of my head ok?)

I think what sets this episode apart from last season is I could really see them all as people and not just parts of  legends pieced together. It was nice to have the jump of three years to give these people more dept. I could see it right away and I loved it. Merlin seemed to really have come into his own ever that time. I can’t wait to see where he goes. My only hope is they do the magic reveal right with him. Over all I am really looking forward to this season unfold.

What are you looking forward to this season?

Leave a Reply

