Graphic Novel review: Jim Henson’s Tale of Sand

So when I finished reading this book I felt a lot like I did after I watched Primer for the first time. Kind of a “What just happened I need to see everything over again RIGHT NOW!” feeling. This novel is based on a screen play hidden in the depths of the Henson vault that was only recently found.

I knew very little about the story itself before reading, and if I’m being real, I don’t think I could explain it if I wanted to. It works for my “No spoilers” rule anyway. Suffice to say, it’s different. Enjoyable , but different.

It took a while for me to get my hands on this book bc it seemed to be sold out everywhere. I finally got it at WonderCon this past March. From the moment you pick up the book the quality is evident. Small things like the elastic strap that gives the book a moleskin journal feel, is just one example. Basically what Archaia is known for.

Then you open the book and are blown away by the art. While the screenplay itself was written by Jim Henson and Jerry Juhl, the creative team that gave it life brought their A+ game.

Taking the lead is Ramon Perez with the phenomenal art and design. This book relies very little on dialog and leaves a majority of the story telling to Ramon and his skills. He takes us on a crazy ride that only few minds like Jim and Jerry would dare dream and Perez does it well. Adding to Perez’s work and giving it color is Ian Herring. Who, again, does an impeccable job.

While the story doesn’t have a lot of dialog Deron Bennett made sure to make it special when it does. Bennett designed a font based on Henson’s handwriting which was found all over the original screen play. Talk about attention to detail! *highest of fives*

After I finished reading I was truly inspired by the novel and wanted to make something. I didn’t know what until I stumbled upon this and had my “AH HA” moment. (I made it the same way I do my own clothing tags.) It’s going to hang on my wall and I’ll give it friends as I feel ~inspired.

The design itself is based off of the cover and this scene from the book. (I know it doesn’t look very much like a stop sign but work with me.)

In the end this is a must have for Henson fans and those looking for a different type of story.

You can pick it up at your local shop (hopefully) or from Archaia.

-Mel

2 thoughts on “Graphic Novel review: Jim Henson’s Tale of Sand

  1. Pingback: Hogwarts Wall Art | Why Sew Nerdy

  2. Pingback: Comic Review: Quixote By Deron Bennett | Why Sew Nerdy

Leave a Reply

